‘Midnight Radio’ Review: A Deeply Emotional Look at Identity

Midnight Radio follows the stories of four people, all at a crossroads in life. The volume looks at identity and the reality of falling into a version of yourself you don’t recognize. It’s a deeply personal set of stories with real issues at heart. We see a young man who no longer speaks, who sees…

‘Gender Queer’ Review: A Guide to Discovering Your Identity

Gender Queer details the complicated journey of discovering who you are amidst a sea of expected gender norms and societal pressures. The author, Maia Kobabe, tells eir story with detail, leaving nothing out as e navigates the struggles of eir youth and what it’s like to grow up knowing you’re different from your peers. Kobabe…

‘Dracopedia Field Guide’ Review: The Coolest Dragon Book You’ll Find

I can’t say enough about the Dracopedia Field Guide. This is the kind of fantasy encyclopedia you’ve dreamed of, filled with every kind of dragon you could imagine and every minute detail you’d want to know. I was completely engrossed in the descriptions paired with the beautiful artwork. I’ve never seen a fictional field guide…

‘The Only Living Girl Volume 1’ Review: Science Amidst Chaos

The Only Living Girl Volume 1 follows a young girl who is a brilliant scientist on another world beyond Earth. She’s inquisitive and incredibly smart, using her skills to problem solve in dangerous situations. With such a scientific mind at the forefront, this becomes a teaching piece at times, showing how scientific curiosity typically unfolds from…

‘Basquiat’ Review: An Eccentric Look at a Brilliant Man

Basquiat, a new graphic novel detailing the artist’s life, bursts with color on every page, giving us a wildly eccentric look at one of the most original artists to hit the art scene. It’s a quick read that shows us the rise and early demise of this extremely talented man. The pages come to life,…

‘Grace’ Review: The Mysteries of Jeff Buckley

For fans of Jeff Buckley, Grace is an essential read. This graphic novel details his early years getting started in the music business, leading to his meteoric rise to stardom and his eventual death. He was a fascinating guy filled with passion and so much drive that it left him in doubt about his future…

‘Waves’ Review: A Beautiful & Intimate Portrait of Grief

Waves is something special. This beautiful graphic novel is packed with so much of its author and a tragedy she fought hard to come to terms with. It’s the story of a woman whose baby is taken from her too soon, a story that shows her slowly rejoining the world of the living and re-discovering…

‘Pilu of the Woods’ Review: An Emotionally Beautiful Masterpiece

Pilu of the Woods is a graphic novel that’s beautiful in every way possible. The story is one of redemption, of overcoming your inner demons and admitting that fear sometimes gets the better of us and we must learn to move past it to recognize what really matters. It’s a moral story through and through,…