‘Basquiat’ Review: An Eccentric Look at a Brilliant Man

Basquiat, a new graphic novel detailing the artist’s life, bursts with color on every page, giving us a wildly eccentric look at one of the most original artists to hit the art scene. It’s a quick read that shows us the rise and early demise of this extremely talented man. The pages come to life,…

‘Midas’ Review: A Solid Gold Race Through Space

Midas is a wild ride through space and time, following a crew of mercenaries as they attempt to discover a game-changing weapon. Their destination is Earth, a long dead planet that’s covered in gold. The graphic novel takes the King Midas myth we all know and extends it in a terrifying direction. This isn’t a…

‘Bone Parish’ Review: When Crime & Horror Meet

Bone Parish is equally fascinating and horrifying. The premise is about as morbid as it gets, with horrifying scenes of drugs gone wrong. The volume is fueled by the drama between drug families and the product in contention continues to be morphed to give the originators the upper hand. Bone Parish Volume 1 Written by Cullen…

‘Grace’ Review: The Mysteries of Jeff Buckley

For fans of Jeff Buckley, Grace is an essential read. This graphic novel details his early years getting started in the music business, leading to his meteoric rise to stardom and his eventual death. He was a fascinating guy filled with passion and so much drive that it left him in doubt about his future…

‘Waves’ Review: A Beautiful & Intimate Portrait of Grief

Waves is something special. This beautiful graphic novel is packed with so much of its author and a tragedy she fought hard to come to terms with. It’s the story of a woman whose baby is taken from her too soon, a story that shows her slowly rejoining the world of the living and re-discovering…

‘Catwoman Volume 1: Copycats’ Review: The Claws Come Out

As a quick disclaimer, I’m not reviewing this based on story continuity as I’m new to the realm of comic books and can’t talk accurately about that. I’m purely assessing the story and the art style. Catwoman Volume 1: Copycats is a no-holds-barred, action-packed story featuring an intense villain and a fight to overcome her…

‘The Underfoot’ Review: Hamster Mercenaries on Display

I loved everything about The Underfoot series. The concept of hamster mercenaries is incredibly intriguing, and the story is so much more. There’s a real depth to the writing, showing us the struggles of surviving in a big world when you’re so small. Everything feels epic, from the dialogue to the battles to the consequences…